What Rain? More Than 25,000 Runners Completed the Popular® Brooklyn Half! Check out our race report from the day

 

Youth Events

Rising New York Road Runners youth events are 100% free and are organized into three stages based on the physical activity level of the participant. This structure places boys and girls into events most appropriate for their skill level.

These youth events are a combination of fitness activities and structured running. Our goal is to give boys and girls the most fun and best experience, so they want to continue to be active for the rest of their lives.

Here’s a quick breakdown of how the events are structured:

Level Ages Event Types Register If...
Stage 1 2 to 10 Non-competitive
Untimed shorter distances
Fitness activities

Your child is new to physical activity or running, but likes playing games and being active.

Stage 2 8 to 18
Non-competitive
Untimed medium distances
Fitness activities

Your child likes running, but isn’t ready for a competitive event. Your child likes playing games and being active.

Stage 3 12 to 18 Competitive
Timed longer distances
Fitness activities

Your child is comfortable running a longer distance and racing other kids in a competitive setting.

If you need help determining your child's stage, please contact [email protected].


See below for a list of Rising New York Road Runners events, and visit the event pages to register your child for that event. Plan ahead for event day and read our Child Claim Instructions.

Date Rising New York Road Runners Event Stages Offered
Stage 1 Stage 2 Stage 3
Sunday, May 13 at Japan Run    
Saturday, May 19 at the Popular Brooklyn Half  
Sunday, June 3 at the Italy Run by Ferrero    
Saturday, June 9 at the NYRR New York Mini 10K    
Saturday, June 16 at the NYRR Queens 10K    
Sunday, June 24 Kids' Races at the Achilles Hope & Possibility (4M) with Rising New York Road Runners    
Tuesday, Aug. 7 Jamboree Presented by Tata Consultancy Services (Summer)  
Sunday, Aug. 19 at the France Run    
Sunday, Sept. 16 at Kurt Steiner Cross Country
Sunday, Sept. 30 at the New Balance Bronx 10 Mile  
Sunday, Oct. 7 at Harry Murphy Cross Country
Saturday, Oct. 13 at Clove Lakes Park
Sunday, Nov. 18 at the Fred Lebow Cross Country Championships
Sunday, Nov. 18 at the Race to Deliver    
Saturday, Dec. 1 at the Jingle Bell Jog